47th Annual Dinner to Feature Obama EPA Head, Honor Worker Health Leader

In just under two weeks, the Ecology Center will host its 47th annual dinner. This year we celebrate the company of distinguished guests Gina McCarthy and Franklin Mirer. Ms. McCarthy, head of the EPA under President Obama from 2013 to 2017, will deliver this year’s keynote speech. Dr. Mirer will be presented with the Herbert L. Munzel Award for Environmental Activism, honoring his five decades of leadership and service for workers safety and environmental health.

Gina McCarthy led historic progress to achieve the administration's public health and environmental protection goals and Climate Action Plan. In 2015, she signed the Clean Power Plan, which set the first-ever national standards for reducing carbon emissions from existing power plants, underscoring the country's commitment to domestic climate action and spurring international efforts that helped secure the Paris Climate Agreement. She also led the EPA effort to establish the first-ever national car and SUV GHG emissions standards. Other accomplishments include reducing air pollution, protecting water resources, and strengthening chemical safety to better protect more Americans, especially the most vulnerable, from negative health impacts.

Dr. Franklin E. Mirer is one of the country’s foremost advocates for workplace safety and environmental health.  As the long-time Director of the United Auto Workers’ Health and Safety Department, he helped develop national standards for methylene chloride, lead, and many of the toxic chemicals most dangerous to workers and communities. His research and leadership has made workplaces and communities safer across the country, and today, as a toxicologist at the CUNY School of Public Health, he continues to champion environmental health. As a UAW-organized nonprofit, the Ecology Center is pleased to honor Mirer’s decades of service.

It’s not too late to register for this very special event on the evening of Wednesday, October 10. Or, join us as a sponsor.

Published on September 26, 2018